A new year, new books.

Happy New Year Everyone!

As I recover from last nights champagne hangover I can’t help but feel slightly disappointed with myself. I’ve missed so many good reads this year! So, for 2014 I’ve compiled a list of “Goal Books” to complete over the next 12 months. From light-hearted love stories to horrifying depictions of poverty, this list has something for every type of reader.

In no particular order…

1| Screen Shot 2014-01-01 at 12.49.40 PM

I’m a sucker for a sad girl tale and this book seems to fit the bill. It’s the story of a young girl who discovers both herself and the secret life her beloved Uncle was forced to live.

Read Tell the Wolves I’m Home

2|Screen Shot 2014-01-01 at 12.57.41 PM

It’s 1986 and two high school misfits fall in love through their mutual admiration for music. Don’t let the Teen book label mislead you, Rainbow Rowell knows how to write about love and Eleanor and Park is no exception.

Read Eleanor and Park

3|Screen Shot 2014-01-01 at 1.18.52 PM

It takes Donna Tart 10 years to write a novel and they are usually well worth the wait. In her most recent endeavor a newly orphaned boy is comforted by a famous painting which leads him into the dark underworld of art dealing.

Read The Goldfinch

4|Screen Shot 2014-01-01 at 1.41.27 PM

Did you ever wonder what happened to little Danny after The Shining? Well, this book has the answers. A now middle-aged man, Dan is forced to deal with the paranormal perils threatening the life of a special little girl. Described as “Instantly riveting” this novel is sure to be one of Stephen King’s best.

Read Doctor Sleep

5|Screen Shot 2014-01-01 at 1.49.34 PM

Pulitzer Prize winner Katherine Boo painfully illustrates the contrasting social classes that inhabit the area surrounding India’s Mubai airport. Personal stories of seemingly impossible poverty will stay with the reader long after all the pages have turned.

Read Behind the Beautiful Forevers

6| Screen Shot 2014-01-01 at 2.12.25 PM

A fifth grader with a jarring facial deformity longs to be excepted as “normal” by his less than understanding classmates. This story of compassion and empathy is something both children and adults will relate to.

Read Wonder

7|Screen Shot 2014-01-01 at 2.26.24 PM

This runaway New York Times Bestseller tells the almost forgotten story of World War II lieutenant Louis Zamperini’s fight for survival in the most trying of times. From boyhood perils to the flight that would change his life, this book left readers captivated.

Read Unbroken

8| Screen Shot 2014-01-01 at 2.34.26 PM

The most realistic depiction of the life Jesus Christ and the fierce establishment his existence threatened. This book is anchored with historical facts and was recommended by both believers and non-believers alike.

Read Zealot

9|Screen Shot 2014-01-01 at 3.07.15 PM

Malcolm Gladwell has graced us once again with his astute observations of the world we share. Through thorough research and Gladwell’s distinctive prose this book will change the way we view society’s underdogs.

Read David and Goliath

10|Screen Shot 2014-01-01 at 3.21.58 PM

Sandberg examines the roles of women in the work place and gets to the root of why men still hold the majority of leadership positions. As the chief operating officer of Facebook she also has some valuable advice for anyone looking to further their own career.

Read Lean In

What are your Goal Books this year? Please share in the comments!

Xx

17 thoughts on “A new year, new books.

  1. Ooh, I’ve heard a lot about Eleanor and Park, and Rainbow Rowell in general. I actually just got my first Rainbow Rowell book, Fangirl, so I’m super excited to read that this year!

    I’ve also been wanting to read something by Stephen King for who knows how long. Maybe this year I’ll read something of his.

    I should probably make a post for all the awesome books I missed in 2013 that I plan to read this year. Great post!

  2. I have 2. 3. and 4. loaded on my Kindle ready to go… it’s just deciding what to read first!

    Happy New Year! Merry Reading!

    🙂

    • The Goldfinch is suppose to be wonderful! I connected my e-reader to my local library, they always have the latest e-books available to “borrow” for a period of time. You should check it out, I save so much money that way. Thanks for the comment!

  3. I have my sights set on Eleanor and Park and the Sheryl Sandberg book because I’ve heard raving reviews for both of them. Great list you’ve complied by the way!

  4. I too can’t wait to read the Goldfinch. Just have to knock off the other 25 books that have been patiently waiting on the must-read queue 😉

  5. Pingback: Wolves, I’m home. | House of Adelaide

  6. Pingback: Everyone should read this children’s book. | House of Adelaide

  7. Pingback: Unbroken, unbroken. | House of Adelaide

Leave a Reply

