Wolves, I’m home.

12875258

Holding true to a resolution I made in the beginning of the year, I had recently finished book 1 of 10 “goal books” I intended on reading by the end of 2014. (Confused? Please reference back to New year, new books.) Tell The Wolves I’m Home is almost magically told through the eyes of June Albus, a fifteen year old girl reeling from the death of an uncle she shamefully harbored feelings for. Please hold dry heaves until the end of this review. It’s not like that. For June, the love she had for Uncle Finn was birthed from pure innocence. However, there is plenty Finn was forced to keep from her and the truth slowly begins to unravel after he dies of AIDS.

For me, the litmus test of a good book is its ability to seamlessly introduce you into another person’s consciousness. From page one you are immersed in Junes sometimes raw, and oftentimes tender, feelings for the people who inhabit her small up-state life. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to get lost in some truly beautiful writing.

Here are some of my favorite quotes:

“Her tears tell the story of what she knows. That the past, present, and future are just one thing. That there’s nowhere to go from here. Home is home is home.”

“I know all about love that’s too big to stay in a tiny bucket. Splashing out all over the place in the most embarrassing way possible. I didn’t want to hear anymore of the story, but I couldn’t help listening. The pain of it almost felt good.”

“I thought of all the different kinds of love in the world. I could think of ten without even trying.The way parents love their kid, the way you love a puppy or chocolate ice cream or home or your favorite book or your sister. Or your uncle. There’s those kinds of loves and then there’s the other. The falling kind.”

Read this book.

Happy reading.

Xx

2 thoughts on “Wolves, I’m home.

Leave a Reply

