Everyone should read this children’s book.

Screen Shot 2014-01-25 at 12.42.52 AM

First off, I would like to be honest and admit to audibly scoffing at adults who prowl the young readers section for their next book. I thought I was above you. Turns out, I’m just as big of a sucker for a charming, harmless story as the rest of you. This book was so much more than I thought it would be- a true masterpiece- one I will be certain to share with my future children.

Wonder is a snapshot of the life of August, a bright 10 year old boy who was born with a severe facial deformity. After living the first decade of his life undergoing painful surgeries and even more painful stares, he is about to begin the scariest thing of all, entering school for the first time with hundreds of not-so-friendly middle schoolers. The story is told through the perspective of Auggie and the other young people in his life. It explores the dual nature in all of us, how we could be so empathetic, while also unintentionally making cruel choices. This is a superb debut novel, and R.J. Palacio deserves all the praise she has received.

Here are some of my favorite quotes:

“If every person in this room made it a rule that wherever you are, whenever you can, you wil try to act a little kinder than is necessary – the world really would be a better place. And if you do this, if you act just a little kinder than is necessary, someone else, somewhere, someday, may recognize in you, in every single one of you, the face of God.”

“Kinder than is necessary. Because it’s not enough to be kind. One should be kinder than needed.”

“I think there should be a rule that everyone in the world should get a standing ovation at least once in their lives.”

“the universe takes care of all its birds.”

Buy Wonder

Happy Reading.

P.s. I’m onto my third book on my list, not sure if I should start Doctor Sleep or Unbroken next? Please help.

Xx

4 thoughts on “Everyone should read this children’s book.

  1. Nice review! I also loved WONDER. I listened to it as an audio book and was blown away with the great truths it presented. I’ve been telling people that WONDER should be required reading for every 5th grader. You might scoff, but I have to admit, as a librarian and author, I’m frequently reading kids books. 🙂

Leave a Reply

