Toss those pants, skirt the issue.

Usually sometime around mid-Feburay I find myself in a complete and utter Winter funk. The days are endlessly cold and the Sun becomes sparse at best. I lose motivation for every and all activities that involve leaving the house, which usually leads to an extra 6-8lbs of unwanted belly fat – food is the only salvation!

This year was no different. None of my pants fit, the ends of my hair are impossibly dry and if I was any paler I’d be in a coffin. That is until this past weekend. For the first time since October I could see a break in the black hole that was this Winter. That big bright shiny orb finally let a little heat fall on the Jersey shore, and I begun the planning of something I had been wanting to do for years (Bonnaroo 2014, baby!). So in celebration of impending Spring, lets explore the most wonderful part of warm weather- the glorious clothes!

If you’re like me, and I’m assuming you are, pants are something I generally like to avoid. Here are some of my favorite pant-less looks and where you can get them.

Cheer up! Summer is around the corner.

Anthropologie has been the go-to place for hippie skirts for years, and while I know a long floral dress can seem daring, sometimes you just need to be a daring kinda gal. Pair this with a casual t-shirt for a Summer brunch, or a quality tank for an outdoor wedding. Come on! Haven’t you always wanted to own one of these. Admit it.

Anthropologie $168

Screen Shot 2014-02-27 at 3.16.43 PM

If the thought of that much floral makes you gag, then here is your alternative. There is never a wrong time of year for black. This tulip design allows for a flash of leg making this skirt a great “going out” staple. Now lets all take a moment to thank the Forever 21 Gods.

Forever 21 $15.80

Screen Shot 2014-02-27 at 3.30.12 PM

Is your motto “The shorter the better”? Check out this little number from Zara. The pattern is fun but conservative enough for a dinner with your boyfriend’s parents.Throw a black blazer over it and head to board meeting, or add some leggings and wear it into Fall. The options are endless.

Zara $25.90

Screen Shot 2014-02-27 at 3.40.33 PM

If you’re feeling a bit more conservative, J.Crew has got your back. This drapey pencil skirt is pure perfection, and a much needed pop of color in anyones wardrobe. It comes in a variety of shades, but I much prefer this cobalt blue.

J.Crew $98

Screen Shot 2014-02-27 at 3.54.07 PM

Polka! Polka! This dotted skirt is hard not to fall in love with. Just picture yourself the envy of all backyard shin-digs. I highly recommend carrying around a pitcher of lemonade
to complete the look. Obviously this sweetheart is brought to you by ModCloth.

ModCloth $49.99

Screen Shot 2014-02-27 at 4.06.07 PM

This classic a-length tulle wonder is both glamorous and fresh. Make it casual or dress it up with different tops and shoes. The airy fabric will be lovely on a particularly humid summer night. I love that they paired it with an Eiffel Tower tee, giving it just the right amount of whimsey.

H&M &34.95

Screen Shot 2014-02-27 at 4.11.23 PM

I always like to have one or two go-to casual skirts in my warm weather wardrobe.This longer version of the tulip skirt is perfect to throw on before a Sunday afternoon beach trip. Plus the price is pretty killer too. What would we do without the Targ Mahal?

Target $19.99

Screen Shot 2014-02-27 at 4.23.00 PM

Give me patterns or give me death. Short and tight, this skirt was made for a little partying. The high waist allows for a few extra chicken wings the night before, so have no fear, break out that cropped-top you never thought you’d wear again.

Nordstroms $20

Screen Shot 2014-02-27 at 4.32.21 PM

Happy Spring dreaming.

Xx

Leave a Reply

