How to save yourself from a mid-Summer slump.

Summertime Sadness| Lana Del Rey

At the risk of sounding like the most dramatic human on Earth, I’m suffering from Summer woes. It happens every August, suddenly my desire to not wear pants is greater than my desire to leave the house. So for the last two weeks it has been the mind-numbing work, home, work, home, work routine. Maybe it’s my aging bones talking, but these sweaty months are just not what they used to be.

So in an attempt to revive myself just enough to squeeze some good vibes out of August, I’ve complied a to-do list for anyone else suffering from the summer slump. Try not to slit your wrists until the end.

1| Make tomato sauce from scratch.

Tomato Sauce

For me, cooking has always provided some cheap therapy, and what better way to fully immerse
yourself in the season of fresh produce than by making a delicious meal. Tomato sauce requires little skill, yet the outcome is insanely delicious, plus, you can brag to all your friends about it on your chosen social media platform. Luckily for us, August is the prime month for the Tomato, making them extremely affordable and availale anywhere produce it found.

I love this easy-peasy recipe from Food and Wine| Basic Tomato Sauce From Fresh Tomatoes

If you are looking for a less time-comsuming recipe, Giada De Laurentiis has got you covered with her Simple Tomato Sauce using canned crushed Tomatoes.

In a few minutes your home will smell better than you ever even imagined, boil your favorite pasta and invite some friends over to share in the feast.

2| Make one “kooky” online purchase.

Let me just stress that this “kooky” purchase should not break the bank, just a little something you have always wanted but couldn’t justify it to you boyfriend, girlfriend, mom, dad etc. For example, I trolled through Amazon until I found this perfect molded plastic armchair rocker at a basement price of $85. It’s something I know I will have and love until it’s pried from my cold dead hands, and it’s just whimsey enough to brighten my space.

Amazon $85

LexMod Molded Plastic Rocker

3| Read a comedic memoir

What better way to step out of your own life then by stepping into someone else’s? My suggestion is to stick with the tried and true winners of the genre.

As far as hilarity goes, it’s a toss-up between any of Chelsea Handler’s literary achievements. If I had to suggest one, I’d most certainly go with My Horizontal Life. The focus is solely on her various one-night stands, which involve everything from barely legal teenagers to little people. If nothing else, it will make you feel exponentially better about your own love life, or lack there of.

My Horizontal Life: A Collection of One-Night Stands $6.35 at bn.com

Chelsea Handler

Honorable Mentions:

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) By Mindy Kaling
Mindy Kaling

Bossypants by Tina Fey
Tina Fey

I Like You Just the Way I Am: Stories About Me and Some Other People By Jenny Mollen
I like you just the way I am

4| Thirty minutes of 90’s music on Spotify

Whether you pay for this God’s gift to music lovers or not, you can easily access their 90’s playlist through the “Genre Station” option. With musicians like R.E.M, Blues Traveler, The Gin Blossoms, Tom Petty and Pearl Jam, you can’t help but have a good time. Add some wine and a lonesome underwear-dance party to the mix and you have yourself an enviable night in. Please note: anyone 35+ could also find salvation in the 80’s.

Download Spotify for free here

Here’s just a taste of what your ears can be enjoying:

5| Plan a one-night-only park and camp trip

Camp Vibes

Park and camp is the least rugged of all camping adventures and usually requires minimum prep. Gather a few friends and try to find a location that provides both bathroom facilities and a grill, both are important but only one is crucial. The one-night-only component makes it friendly to everyone, no matter what their wilderness tolerance level is. Bring hot dogs, marshmallows and an acoustic guitar for a truly authentic experience. A night under the stars should be enough to cure you of the sad Summer feels, and if that doesn’t work, there’s always copious amounts of alcohol.

Cheers to August.

Xx

I can’t resist a little Lana, it’s too perfect.

Leave a Reply

