Greetings from Asbury Park.

Asbury Park

Sunday was a soulful mix of sun, saltwater and Mexican food. I spent the better part of the day at my favorite stretch of beach on the Jersey Shore, Asbury Park, with my brother who was visiting from New Brunswick. Just that morning we had sent our parents off on the first vacation they were taking alone since 1987, I think it was bitter-sweet for them not to be bringing us along. I adore my brudder so spending some time alone with him was a true treat, I have really learned to appreciate those little “time gifts” the universe sometimes gives you. As you can tell from my previous post I was having a Summer slump, turns out, all I really needed was a good swim and some good food.

Asbury Park

“The cure for anything is saltwater- sweat, tears, or the sea.”

It’s been a long held tradition in my family to waste away Summer Sunday’s on the beach, they usually involve my mother toting a magic cooler filled with fruit salads, various chips, and a variety of cold beverages. Since neither one of us were willing to step it up to that level, we “settled” for tacos and enchiladas at Pop’s Garage on the boardwalk. It was stifling hot anywhere except right by the water, the boardwalk was sweltering, our only salvation was $5 Ginger Beers which were absolutely amazing and will be highly recommended once I remember the name of the place I bought them from. Yikes.

Asbury Park

In spite of the heat we ended up walking the distance of the boardwalk until we hit the next town over, Ocean Grove. Asbury Park has had a long, ever changing history in New Jersey, I can’t help but think about all the people who had passed through this very building.

Asbury Park

The ocean had finally warmed after a fews months of the Summer sun beating down. I was able to get more than just my feet in and really enjoy the water for the first time this year.

Asbury park

When we got home I got started on a batch of tomato sauce made from our home-grown tomatoes (recipe to come), it’s a long arduous task but I needed to distract myself from the upcoming week. My brother headed back to his apartment, sunburned and hungry. I settled into the evening feeling a little melancholy about the Summer coming to an end in the next few weeks. It never seems to be long enough. Here’s hoping I get one last swim in before the Fall.

Happy final days of Summer.

Xx

Leave a Reply

